Giving Thanks on Thanksgiving

norman-rockwell-thanksgiving-thanksgiving-2927689-375-479

Thanksgiving, is my favorite holiday,
where I truly appreciate having food to eat,
a place to sleep, and family to warm my heart.
I will always remember the year or two as a Child,
when we had no heat and we had no food.
I recall the smell of Turkeys cooking all around me,
but for us a ‘feast’ was not a reality, we ate chicken
noodle soup and crackers. It seems so hollow to me.
It will always be ever so poignant to me.

That is why, once I grew up, I tried to save at least
one family from the same hollow-hearted feelings…
I would make up a Thanksgiving basket or two.
Filled with fruits, nuts, cake, candy, and all the trimmings
for a Wonderful feast, along with a store card for a Turkey.
I would contact the local school nurse, because if anyone
knew which Kid’s family were truly hungry, it would be her.
I would deliver them to the families, saying…
I am delivering this for someone who is…
“Wishing you and yours, many Blessings now and in the future.”
There would be a card attached with that sentiment, signed…
“From someone who has been there. God Bless.”

It was my way of giving thanks to God for all my blessings.
I held so tight to this Holiday as the Holiday of Love and Warmth,
that I would drive over 900 miles, for 20 hours, in holiday traffic,
to and from, to gather everyone up so we could all be together.
I would prep the house, pick up the family, Cook the feast, then…
drive them all back home. The day was always magical for me.

What are some of the ways you and yours share the Warmth on Thanksgiving?

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks on Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

