Thank You Social Media?

Placeholder Image                                                          Follow Your Path

.

Staying Connected. Can You Hear Me Now?

Back in the ‘old days’, when I traveled by horse… No, not really.

.

Way Back… 

When our ancestors were emigrating, they left behind everything, homes, family, decades of history and friendships. They would try to stay connected through written correspondence. Keeping their loved ones apprised of the trials and tribulation of their new adventures. It would sometimes take months via ships, stagecoaches, carriages, and horses. Letters of Importance would often cross in transit. There was such time and distance between people and important communiqué. Most were never to meet again. (I can’t imagine that)

Back In The ‘Old Days’…

When we lived in smaller settlements, communities and /or neighborhoods, we could walk up and down the streets, and just pop in on friends or family for a cup of coffee or a spot of tea. We would sit together in the kitchen or on the porch and share what is going on in our lives. Making personal contact we could Laugh & Cry together. Best of all we could get a big HUG.

Today…

We are even more transient, we live all around the country and globe. It is not feasible to make personal contact, especially because we are All so busy now-a-days. Phone calls do not quite fill in the whole picture, the true colors and textures of our lives, also, No big HUG.

TA-DAH

Enters Social Media… I can pop in on friends and family, to see how they are doing, to celebrate their beautiful good times and to be with them in their rough times. It may not be in person, but through a window to their world, I feel as if I am there… I hope they can also feel my joys and concerns for them and their lives.

Thank you social media for allowing me Wings to Fly to the windows of the ones I Love!

However, it will never replace the hugs and kisses
So, In the New Year, Reach-out and Hug someone.

.

Staying Connected. Can You Hug Me Now?

-Oma Eagle

.

One of my favorite, since I was a child…

.

Around The Corner

Around the corner I have a friend,
In this great city that has no end,
Yet the days go by and weeks rush on,
And before I know it, a year is gone.
And I never see my old friends face,
For life is a swift and terrible race,
He knows I like him just as well,
As in the days when I rang his bell.
And he rang mine but we were younger then,
And now we are busy, tired men.
Tired of playing a foolish game,
Tired of trying to make a name.
“Tomorrow” I say! “I will call on Jim
Just to show that I’m thinking of him”,
But tomorrow comes and tomorrow goes,
And distance between us grows and grows.
Around the corner, yet miles away,
“Here’s a telegram sir,” “Jim died today.”
And that’s what we get and deserve in the end.
Around the corner, a vanished friend.

Charles Hanson Towne

One thought on “Thank You Social Media?

Leave a Reply

