I Love Geneology

Mayflower Line.

.

I have been doing it for over 50 years.

.

In the Beginning…

I started along side my Grandfather when I was just about 13.
Back in the Day it was long days pouring over dusty Tomes,
Eye Blinded hours going through Microfishe films… Groan
Days on end of sorting and cataloging collected information.
But it was Great Fun in the early years when it came to the
interviews of the Elders, listening to their stories and recollections.
Taking notes while viewing old photos, letters, and mementos 😉

Then…

I owned over 200 Genealogical Research Books:

  • Published Family Genealogies
  • New England Historical and Biographical Tomes.
  • New York Counties’ Historical and Biographical Tomes.
  • Pennsylvania Counties’ Historical and Biographical Tomes.
  • Volumes on First American Families; Early Settlers; & Colonial Ancestors.
  • The Histories & Families of:
    • The Dutch Quaker Migration;
    • The Germantown settlement;
    • The New Netherlands Dutch
    • The Saints and Strangers of the Mayflower.
  • Military rosters, Fort court records, ancient directories, etc.

All this history in books from the late 1800’s up to the turn of the century.        I LOVE reading them…

Enter the Internet…

I no longer had to leave my home to do research in Historical Societies and Libraries. I could remotely sign in to Uni Libraries to pull up historical and biographical books. I would remotely sign in to the local library to research records, census, vitals, cemeteries, and old newspaper articles using their Heritage Quest on-line.  WOW

It was my sanity…

while I was connected to a dialysis machine 10 hours a night for near 5 year.

Funny thing is… 😀 During this time I found out that…
I am related to our 2 Son-in-Laws going back to the early 1600’s

One Son-in-Law I am related to on 3 different Quaker /
Mennonite lines from the early Germantown settlement..
The other, I am related to from the Massachusetts Bay Colony.
The only thing is where my tree use to say
‘Mother of the Husband of your Daughter’, Etc…
It now says… 11th cousin 5x removed… :/

Does this make Me a History Geek? Nerd?

Stay tuned, I will be sharing some of my Family discoveries in future Blogs.

.

Reach out and touch your Elders,

talk to them and take many notes, even if what they say doesn’t make sense to you. Where did they, their parent, grandparents live, work, etc. Ask about customs, foods, trades, don’t forget to include the hearsay (it might come in handy). Write everything they say down, it may come into play later.

Have Fun -OmaEagle

.

Leave a Reply

