Playing with My Buttons

.

I May Have Lost My Marbles, But I Never Lost My Buttons… 😉

.

I Love Buttons,  I Always Have

.

When I was growing up…

I would sit and play for hours with the assorted buttons in Grandmother’s sewing machine bench. All sizes, all shapes, all colors, all assorted into their very own tiny Sucrets tins and pill bottles. Leather, metal, ceramic, shell, plastic, rhinestoned. Round, square, diamonds, flowers, mounded, raised, woven, animals and seasonal Christmas and Easter shapes.

As I grew older…

I began to save my own buttons. When I would ‘recycle old clothing’, I would trim all the buttons and zipper, etc. off and save them. Recycling them on odd and ends sewing crafts: bed quilts, bedspreads, handbags, etc. Eventually I received my Grandmother’s sewing machine desk and sewing machine storage bench, complete with the button collection.

A Short Commercial Break…

‘recycle old clothing’ – A topic for another Blog post, because when I say ‘recycle old clothing’, I mean really recycling… by donating, repurposing and actually composting them…. more on that later, stayed tuned.  😉

So many decades later…

After having raised my own daughters, I decided to play with My Buttons.

My previous button post include:

Now… 

Vintage Button Necklaces

Button Necklaces

 

Opalescent Shell Button Necklace

jewelry-necklace-shell-buttons

 

Do you still have your Buttons?

What do you think of mine?  😉

.

Leave a Reply

