Movies of My Mind -Summer

.

Summers Growing up…

.

I summered down south in a beach house with my Grandparents.

The day after school ended, from 7 years old on, I would be on a bus headed south, Alone. Back-in-the-day, it took 24-32 hours to get there. There were no super highways, only Route 1 and Route 13, meandering through the many small southern towns. I loved people watching. Then when summer was over, I would head back north, arriving the day before school started. My school clothes were bought down south, so no one had clothes like me.

I was so fortunate, to have them raise me 3 months out of the year. They were so young. They were in their early 50’s and I had them full-time, my Pop retired young. There was such serenity there, a sacred pattern, a Zen.

Mellow Mornings

I was not allowed on the beach during the ‘sun hours’, between the hours of 11:30 & 2:00. I’d wake up around 8, eat breakfast, wash my dishes, make my bed, then sweep out my  room. It was then about 9 – 9:30, only then was I allowed down on the beach. I would be on the beach for about 2 hours, before I had to come in. At 11:30, it was time to come in for lunch. I’d come up, shower off outside, and change into my MuMu, before entering the house.  My Nan would be getting the food ready, Pop would be setting the table and putting the condiments out. My job was to make and serve the lemonade or iced tea. We would set for about an hour, talking, laughing and casually dine. After lunch we’d clear the table, do the dishes, then take an afternoon quiet break… rest or read, etc. The TV or radio was never on. Why would it be, when you had the peaceful serenity of the rhythmic ocean surf.

Affable Afternoons

At 2:00, after our ‘rest hour’, I’d put my bathing suit back on and go down onto the beach. I’d stay there until 4:30, then it was time to come in for dinner. The routine then repeated itself… I’d come up, take a good hot shower outside, and change into my MuMu, before entering the house. My Nan would be getting the food ready, Pop would be making the salad, setting the table and putting the condiments out. My job was to make and serve the lemonade or iced tea. I would change out of my MuMu and dress for dinner. At dinner once again, we would set for about an hour, talking, laughing and casually dine. After dinner we’d clear the table, do the dishes, then take an evening stroll (or run) on the beach, greeting our friends and neighbors. “Howdy Neighbor” “Good evening” “How ya do?”.

Easy Evenings

We’d return to the house about 7:30. My Nan & Pop would get ready for their Nighttime shows. I occasionally watched with them, but I preferred to be outside, walking or riding my bike on the beach, looking for turtles. Occasionally going up the beach to the tourist area for the bright lights, hotel teen / game rooms, and the pool houses, where the tourist kids hung. Many were regulars and would come every year for up to a month. It was always fun to talk about where they were from, their accents and dialects. The Carolinas, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, etc. Upon returning to the house, before curfew, I would get ready for bed and have milk and cookies with my Pop, my Nan would be asleep in the recliner. Pop would then get her off to bed, and stay up to see the weather report. I would be in my room at the desk under the window, drawing and sketching, as the gentle night breeze blew me fragrant night-blooming jasmine kisses.

As we slept we were serenaded from the surrounding dune jungle by the cricket and cicada chorus keeping time with the rhythmic ocean surf.

.

It was Heaven on Earth

I lived my Heaven here on Earth,
I had my Sun, my Warmth, My Mirth,
I had my Quiet and Reflective times,
Now, I have Beautiful Movies of my Mind. -OmaEagle

 

Take Care, Thanks for stopping by. – OmaEagle

I hope you join me on my journey, as I recount many things from my past,       and explore the many other creative possibilities in my future. – OmaEagle


					
2 thoughts on “Movies of My Mind -Summer

Leave a Reply

