Recycling Clothes… 2

I Mean Really Recycling…

by donating, repurposing or actually composting them…

When we, the adults, outgrew our clothes and textiles, I would donate some of the good usable items to charities that actually help clothe and house people, such as Sal-Val (Salvation Army) or the Breakfast Mission.

Others I would repurpose by making new items for the home.

  • Big items: Patchwork bedspreads, blankets, rag rugs, etc.
  • Small items: Kid clothes, vests, scarves, hats, bags, throws, bath mats, pillows, pillowcases, seat cushions, clothespin bags, washcloths, etc.
  • If an item seemed too worn, I would tear it into cleaning and polishing cloths or gardening covers and ties.
  • I have occasionally composted them.

.

The Denim Quilt – Winter 1979-80

I made this denim quilt, while pregnant with my first daughter,                 during the long winter nights of 1979-80.

Denim quilt -winter 1979-80
38 year old denim quilt – made in Winter Nights of 1979-80

It is not as bright and beautiful as it has once been.                                                 It does need some attention and new ‘stuffing’, but boy, does it have a history. First there’s the history behind each and every pair of 1960’s & 70’s jeans in it. Then there is the 38 years of history it has seen…

  • The ‘Huggles’ and Cuddles
  • The Bedtime Stories
  • The ‘Friday Girls Night’ movies
  • and last but not least The Confidential talks

It has secret pockets and zippers, where the girls liked to hide things. 🙂

.

22 years later…

I made this for that very same daughter in Winter 2001-02,                         while she was completing her Undergraduate Degree.  😀

The Daughter’s Denim Quilt – Winter 2001-02

My quilt for BLD

I wonder what ‘history’ this Quilt will hold after 38 years.                            I hope them to all be Wonderful.

Read about it here on my Daughter’s Blog…

https://riotflower.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/mama-comfort/

.

Take Care, Thanks for stopping by.

I hope you join me on my journey, as I recount many things from my past,       and explore the many other creative possibilities in my future. – OmaEagle

One thought on “Recycling Clothes… 2

Leave a Reply

