Recycling Clothes… 3

Rag Rugs

 

I Mean Really Recycling… 

by donating, repurposing or actually composting them…

When we, the adults, outgrew our clothes and textiles, I would donate some of the good usable items to charities that actually help clothe and house people, such as Sal-Val (Salvation Army) or the Breakfast Mission.

Others I would repurpose by making new items for the home.

  • Big items: Patchwork bedspreads, blankets, rag rugs, etc.
  • Small items: Kid clothes, vests, scarves, hats, bags, throws, bath mats, pillows, pillowcases, seat cushions, clothespin bags, washcloths, etc.
  • If an item seemed too worn, I would tear it into cleaning and polishing cloths or gardening covers and ties.
  • I have occasionally composted them.

 

Preparing to Repurpose…

 

For the Rag Rugs:

  • I cut the material into 1 to 1.5 inch strips. (depending on it’s thickness)
  • I begin to wind it into a ball, like yarn
  • I knot the ends together as I go. (I have occasionally sewn the ends.)
  • Store in see-through bin.

 

Rag Rugs in the works…

 

Finished Chair Cushions

mint seat cushionseat cushionf

 

Take Care, Thanks for stopping by.

I hope you join me on my journey, as I recount many things from my past,       and explore the many other creative possibilities in my future. – OmaEagle

Leave a Reply

